Ramblers Orienteering Club

The World of O in the Montreal Region

Sprint at John Abbott College

The spring season opened with a great sprint event at John Abbott College, using the same map that was used for the Quebec Championships in 2016.
Despite the weather forecast (freezing rain), we recorded 107 participants with 91 starts, including many students from JAC.
A highlight was the chase start on the advanced course. Vincent Vionnet, who was second after the first race, caught up on the second race and eventually led the field of 11 men with a total winning time of 41:14… Francis Falardeau came overall 2nd with 41:46, and overall 3rd was Michael Chown (47:31). Orvokki Mattia was the only woman participating at the chase start with an overall winning time of 58:42.

A big Thank You goes to our volunteers for setting up another great event… Philippe, Dmitri, Elena, Bruce, Elaine, Scott, Martin, and Anatoly. Our thanks also go to John Abbott College for allowing us to use the indoor facilities, which we appreciated very much on that wet and chilly April day.

For complete results and photos see our Result page.

Ski & Snowshoe-O at Morgan Arboretum

Weather forecasts kept changing for a week. Happily, post-race chatter was centred more on the enjoyment of the day, the winter edition of the Arbo map and the challenge of the courses. 56 took part / 34 ‘starts’. An extra plus for the event was the participation of a number of Ontario ski-Orienteers. They were on their way to Craftsbury, Vermont where the World Masters Championships in Ski-Orienteering takes place all week long from March 5 until the 10th. Paul Lefebvre (Ottawa O Club) topped a field of 10 in the Long-3 Ski event, edging Francis Falardeau (Ramblers)… 1:09:56 to 1:12:23. Both had made small route errors on the course. Alin Duca (Waterloo Region Stars) was nearly 5 minutes behind the lead for 3rd place and Eric Lillie (Ramblers) had one of his best events to place 4th, 11 minutes back of Lefebvre’s winning time. Among the women on the SKI–2 middle event, Mary Ellen Connolly (Ottawa) topped two others by very close margins. Her time: 0:54:17. Anna Johansson (Swe) was 3½ minutes behind and Olga Rayda (Ramblers) 5½ minutes back.

Thanks to those Ramblers who helped produce the event… Bruce, Elaine, Lena, Elana, Olga, Francis, Anatoliy. (Apologies for anyone I’ve missed.) Our thanks also to the Morgan Arboretum for allowing us to hold our event in this fine location as well as for the use of the Arboretum‘s Conservation Centre.

For complete results and photos see our Result page.


Husky-O 2018


Photos by Alex Vakulenko.

+ the brand new map by Dmitri Golovanov:

+ full results are here!

Snow-O events 2018

The winter season is in full swing with many Snow-O events coming up, among others our Husky-O near Rawdon on Saturday Februry 17. See our events page for the full listing.

+ Membership 2018: Renew or join the club! You can do this now online, and we accept electronic payment!

Score-O 2017

Our traditional season finale was once again the Score-O on Mt Royal.  This year with 50 controls, a time  limit of 2.5 hours, and special Rambler controls. Despite the wet conditions we had a great turn out, including some runners as far as Ottawa.

The course had 5 “Rambler” controls, which were distributed in 5 different sections of Mt Royal. Orienteers who collected all 5 “Rambler” controls did the “full ramble” on the mountain and received extra points. Great that many participants went for the long run (9 of 46 women, 41 of 73 men, and 10 of 36 teams).

Thanks to course setter Sven von Fellenberg for making all this happen, the volunteers and all the participants for coming out, it was a blast. Until next time!

The Winners of each category are listed below:
(The full results are here.)

1. Francis Falardeau 1:49.40
2. Thomas Kneubühler 1:49:51
3. Alexander Bergstrom 1:53:35

1. Mette Ozol 760 pts
2. Aurore Varela 720 pts
3. Lucie Desfontaines 610 pts

1. Blaze (Youri + Louis Simon Capistran) 730 pts
2. Bull’s head (David Leclair & Carl Pearson) 710 pts
3. Princess Casey (Andrew, Casey (2) Rhodes & Zou Tingting) 680 pts

Youth Men
1. Eric Crotty 620 pts
2. Sean Meath 600 pts
3. Paul Vlassov and Frédéric Marin, both 570 pts

Youth Women
1. Elly Trépanier 600 pts
2. Eliane Beauvais, Laurie Desilets Trudeau, and Jennifer Strudwick
(all 340 pts)

+ some photos:

Planning the course in two minutes only – at the Grand Chalet on Mt. Royal

Start at 10 am

Two of the top runners in the Youth Categories, Elly (1.women) and Sean (2.men).

They got all 50 controls in less then 2 hours: Francis Falardeau, Thomas Kneubühler and Alexander Bergstrom.

+ The full set of photos are here!
(thanks to Anna Fichman)

Page 4 of 16

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén